Who is the next Senate President after Pimentel left seat?

Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III has stepped down as Senate president on Monday, nominating Majority Leader Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III as his successor.

“I will be the one who will nominate Senator Tito Sotto as Senate president,” Pimentel said in a media briefing.

In his speech, the outgoing Senate president said he was grateful that he was able to lead the upper chamber, a post his father, former Senate President Aquilino “Nene” Pimentel Jr. has held in the past.

“I step down knowing that I did my best to do this. I wish my successor, Senator Sotto good health and Godspeed, and pledge to help the new leadership pass pro-people legislation, consistent with the legislative agenda of the President,” he said.

Pimentel said after stepping down, he plans to go around the country to explain federalism to the people, calling it not just ruling political party PDP-Laban’s program, but his personal advocacy as well.

“The cause of federalism needs help, as federalism is not only PDP Laban’s advocacy, but also my personal one. I will go around the country on my personal time to help explain to the people what federalism is all about and how the country will benefit from it,” he said.

Majority of the upper chamber’s members – 15 of 23 – earlier signed a resolution electing Sotto as the new Senate president.

  1. The 15 senators who signed the resolution include Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto, Senators Manny Pacquiao, Joel Villanueva, Cynthia Villar, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Grace Poe, Sonny Angara, Loren Legarda, Joseph Victor Ejercito, Nancy Binay, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Escudero, Richard Gordon, Gregorio Honasan and Panfilo Lacson.